“The Wrath and the Dawn” by Renee Ahdieh -Book Review

 

the-wrath-and-the-dawn-summary-e1461273530479

About:

The story follows a girl who decides to volunteer to be the wife of the king. Doesn’t sound so bad, but there’s this thing where’s he’s already been wed quite a few times, and each time the bride ended up dead… One of these deceased wives was the best friend of Shahrzad (*the heroine of the book whose name I probably mentally mispronounced), and is the reason she’s volunteered. After all, Shazi (*her nick name I think I correctly pronounced) wants revenge for the death of her friend, and what better way to get it then to get close to the king as his bride?  But not everything is what it it seems, and Shazi soon finds herself second guessing herself.

Oh, and there’s also some political stuff where people want to take over the kingdom (not too much, though) and this thing where Shazi’s first love does a lot of stuff in order to get her back from the king.

My Review:

I’ve been wanting to read this book since before it released, which was almost two years ago. Yikes! Where did the time go? Thankfully, I was browsing through the best section YA section of my library and found that they had it. How I did not know this is beyond me (I’m usually pretty good at knowing what the library has), but I did not spend much time pondering whether to pick i up. Nope, it quickly made it to my hands, I took it home and, long story short, I can now say I’ve read it.

My thoughts? First, I loved how the setting had an “Aladdin” feel to it. Which makes sense, as this is a retelling of “A Thousand and One Nights.” But, still, it is not the usual forest/mountain setting that is prevalent in many fantasies I’ve read, so it was a nice fresh of air to “visit” a place that felt less familiar.

Secondly, I found most of the characters were well written (I almost wrote well done, but that made them sound like a steak :-P). I like how flawed they are, yet the author still managed to wedge them into my heart, including *gasp* the king.

Third, there was a magic carpet! No one rode it, but THERE WAS A  MAGIC CARPET!

I also liked the aspect of the story that dealt with revenge not being a good answer to pain that others have caused. It was nice to see a story that portrayed a message of forgiveness instead of holding onto a grudge.

As I’ve mentioned, the story did have a few things that kept this book from being perfection to me (seriously, it was close). I won’t rant and rave, but would just like the mention the two things that I wasn’t a big fan of. One was the foul language, and two was that some of the romance between certain married characters was a bit much for my taste.

I’m giving “The Wrath and the Dawn” by Renee Ahdieh  a rating of four.

Book Review Ratings:

5.Great Book!

4.I  liked it!

3. Okay.

2. Did not like it.

1. Did not finish.

6 thoughts on ““The Wrath and the Dawn” by Renee Ahdieh -Book Review

  1. Great review! Happy to see your thoughts… I’ve been wanting to read this one too. 🙂 (The YA section IS the best section. ;)) A MAGIC CARPET?? YAY! 😀 *is fond of magic carpets due to Searching for Dragons by Patricia C. Wrede, and Castle in the Air by Diana Wynne Jones* Thanks for sharing!

    1. Thanks, Deborah! (Yes, it is :-D) I haven’t seen any Magic Carpets in any books I’ve read, so it made me happy. I believe it will be ridden in book two, so YAY!

      I still need to read a DWJ book,,,

    1. I haven’t read many book set in deserts, but I find them interesting. I even had a story planned set in a desert… But yes, MAGIC CARPETS ARE AWESOME. I wish they were real. 😀

  2. Thanks for reviewing this! I’d seen this book around but never really knew what it was about. Now that I know, my curiosity is piqued!

Leave a Reply

