Drama Wednesday (2): Ice Fantasy: Chinese Drama Thoughts

Today for Drama Wednesday (A day where I mostly post about Asian dramas I’m watching/watched), I thought I’d share some of my thoughts on the Chinese Drama, “Ice Fantasy,” which I recently (sadly) finished.

Ice-Fantasy-Poster-Feature-Image (1)

About:

The Fire and Ice Clans haven’t been on good terms. When the Fire Clan ends up destroying the ice wall that protects the Ice Clan from invasion, the two remaining ice princes escape capture and go on a journey to find the Ice Crystals, given to other clans to be kept safe, so they can repair the wall and defeat the Fire Tribe. But there’s more problems going on… Set in an amazing fantasy world, this drama follows adventures of two brothers who care for each other despite all the harsh circumstances that keep ripping them apart.

What I Liked:

Oh, where to begin? My heart just races thinking about this drama. Though it took a few episode to grow on me, I ended up loving this series. Like…

The characters. Oh, as much as I love Korean Dramas, I’ve always been fond of stories that have lots of characters, and these Chinese dramas certainly have an abundance of characters. Yet, though there are so many characters (They’re gradually introduced, so don’t worry about being character bombarded to the point of confusion), each one is just so lovable. Well, the protagonists are… Well, even some of the antagonists have their likable points. Sheesh, some of them even cross sides and you end up A. Still liking them even though they’ve taken a wrong turn or B. Learn to like them when they join the side you’re cheering for.

The world building is also pretty amazing, and many of the characters represent the different peoples. There’s the Ice Clan, Fire Clan, Spirit Clan, Healer Clan, Bear Clan, Dream Clan, and, yes, even a Mermaid Clan. (*loves Mermaids*) Then there are mortals, Kingdom Guardians, plus some other random creatures who inhabit the world. It was just all, so. awesome! Especially when the ice princes (either together or by themsleves) start venturing into all of these clans. The time and dedication the makers of this drama put into creating this world is evident. I wish it was real, though. πŸ˜›

The music is also lovely. Music can add just that flair that gives you the compete feeling, and this drama has some nice background songs.

Not So Fond Of:

There was so much to like about this series, as you can read above. but it still wasn’t absolutely perfect for me.

First, it the graphics aren’t so great, and they take time to get used to. However, I was not bothered by the CGI for long.

Secondly, it took me a few episodes to get into it. With learning the world, the not so fast pace of the Β beginning story, it took time for this show to be one where I was eagerly clicking next episode as soon a I finished an episode.

Third, there were a few romance scenes that were a bit much for my taste.

Conclusion:

So yeah, I liked this series. It was the first Chinese drama that I’ve finished, and I’m looking forward to trying more. Especially Wuxia dramas… Not to mention the Ice Fantasy sequel, Ice Fantasy: Destiny.

Now I’m off to watch “Ten Miles of Peach Blossoms.” Here’s one last Β picture of one the Ice Princes that amused me:

i96

12 thoughts on “Drama Wednesday (2): Ice Fantasy: Chinese Drama Thoughts

  1. I need to give Ice Fantasy a second try. I watched the first episode before I had watched any Xianxia or Wuxia dramas and it was a bit overwhelming in scope at that time. Now that I have seen and liked these type of dramas I bet I will like it now. Thx for the reminder that I need to check this one out!

  2. This definitely looks like a drama for me to consider… That trailer has so much fun fantasy vibes!
    Also- I love the new(er) blog header! πŸ˜‰

  3. We tried watching this because I was absolutely fascinated by the idea of Asian elves. Not only that, but seeing the ice world was like a feast for my eyes (there outfits were so pretty too). However, my husband and I weren’t strongly interested after watching two episodes. I think it’s so cool you stuck it out and continued watching! I am eagerly looking forward to reading more of your thoughts on Asian dramas as they are amazing. πŸ˜‰

    1. Hi Laura! It’s lovely to hear from you. Hope you are well. πŸ™‚

      Yes, it was a drama that I decided to stick to because it just looked overall awesome. If it had not picked up after ten episodes, I probably would have dropped it. That was not the case, and I am happy I decided to keep going because I overall loved it.
      It is cool to see that you’re into Asian drama! I did not know. Always fun to find a fellow lover of them. πŸ˜€

      1. I’m doing pretty good! Been busy since I started doing blog tours part time. It’s a “job” I really love and thought about contacting you to see if you would be interested in being a participating blogger. If not, it’s totally okay. I just thought I ask. πŸ˜‰

        I totally didn’t know you were into Asian dramas as well and got so excited when I found out! I tend to watch more Asian films then dramas since they are so long. Haha! Plus the last one we really got into on YouTube, the person who uploaded the drama stopped putting English subtitles (literally halfway through the drama after a tragic event). It’s been hard starting another drama ever since. Haha!

        That’s really cool to hear that the series picked up! I’m not sure if we will watch more or not, but I might try and give it a chance again. πŸ˜‰ Thanks for sharing!

      2. Sounds like a nice job. I’d love to help in being a part of tours, but I’m not taking any more review books for at least the next month. If there is any other way I can help, I would love to.
        It is fun to find others who like them. That sounds horrible! I would have been upset. I actually watch most of my dramas on websites on websites that specialize in subtiteling. Oe is dramafever.com, and the other is viki.com. They are free with ads, or 4.99 a month with no adds. I looooove them, and don’t have to worry about there not being any subtitles on dramafever, and viki usually has the subtitles completed within a day of a video being posted. So yeah, check them out if you are interested. You might even find the drama that you did not finish.
        The series does pick up, so I think you should give it another chance. I had tears in my eyes when it ended.

      3. Yaye! πŸ˜€ If you want and I can send you a message when a signup is ready. I have two coming up (one being Desiree Williams’ Illusionary) in June. How did things go with school? Did you finish the classes you were taking to be a dental hygienist?

        Ugh, it was! I really thank you for sharing those sites! I looked up the drama and the one it’s not available in my country. 😦 However, I might tell my husband about the sites because it looks there are a lot of cool shows on there. Can’t wait to see your post today to see what you’re watching! πŸ˜€

      4. I would love to. I will help with both in whatever way I can, just let me know.
        Lol, I know I disappeared and never told you about school. Life just got complicated, and I let my depression get to me and it weighed down my life. I did manage to finish my classes, but have yet to find a job. The job I have now is nice, but it is only temporary.
        You are welcome! I found them through research. I started watching dramas on hulu and Netflix, but Netflix did not have too many, and hulu’s ad’s drove me crazy when they interrupted the show. I was so thrilled that both of these sites have options like Netflix where you can pay for no ad’s. As, sorry the drama you want to watch is unavailable. Maybe you could find some others to watch because there are indeed many cool looking, plus actually cool, shows. πŸ˜€

      5. Hey Grace! I am soon late in responding to this, but I totally understand! I have some changes recently where I no longer feel called to write fiction, but nonfiction. πŸ™‚ Praying for you!

        Yeah, definitely feel there are a lot of cool shows on there! Maybe TOO many! Haha! As in I-need-to-watch-everything-but-cant. Hahaha!

      6. Thank you for the prayers. πŸ™‚

        Wishing you the best with non-fiction writing. I have a feeling that is something you are good at. I hope you don’t feel any discouragement, and blessed with the flow of words. πŸ˜€

        There are so many. I sometimes feel overwhelmed by them, but I am glad that there are so many choices. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

