Mini Book Reviews #1

Oi! I feel as if I have neglected the book part of my blog. I’ve been meaning to write some reviews, but with work, I’ve just not had much time where I want to try and force thoughts from my head. However, before I forget some of these books, here are a few mini-reviews of some books I’ve read.

30653719“Beauty and the Beast” retellings have been some of my favorites to read, and it was with some excitement that I added the 2017 release “Hunted,” to my TBR  list. I pre-ordered it, waited for it to arrive (*hates waiting for books to arrive*), and then read it. Sadly, I did not like this book as much as I hoped I would. Honestly, it just wasn’t as fast paced as it looks. Yeah, I liked parts of it. I guess, with the lack of a lot of action, it just didn’t have enough of a magical, fairy tale feel that I like in retellings. I also like books that have lots of characters, but there were long spots with just the Beast and Beauty. Especially at the Beast’s castle, there were no side characters to add that extra little charm. In the end, I give it a rating of three.

106I’ve seen this book around, but not often shown in a positive light. But it looked so cool. I mean, mummies? I love mummies. Ignoring the criticisms of others, I decided to see for myself if this was a book for me. It was. No, it’s not perfect, but boy did it entertain me. It was simply a fun adventure romance that I could escape into, and I’m glad I did. Was it similar to the Tiger’s Curse series? Maybe, but not enough that it was not its own story. I loved the characters, the settings… I guess the worse part was the end. Sad, but there’s hope with the sequel. I give “Reawakened” by Colleen Houck a rating of four.

threewishescover_temp

The next book I’d like to give a few quick thoughts on is “Three Wishes” by Lisa T. Begren. I really do not have much to say about this book. I mean, it was nice enough. It lacked (compared to its series’ predecessor) in the action and adventure department, but it was cool getting to  read about some of the history of the Spanish in California. It is a subject I’ve not read much of, and I found it a nice change in book scenery. No, this one is not as good as Bergren’s original “River of Time” series, but it was not an all together bad time travel story. Just…different? Maybe more of a romance than the original series? Anyways, I give it a rating of three and a half.

Book Review Ratings:

5. Great Book!

4. I  liked it!

3. Okay.

2. Did not like it.

1. Did not finish.

3 thoughts on “Mini Book Reviews #1

  1. Nice reviews! I’ll have to check out awakened. Thanks for this, very helpful! You’ve got my follow. Check out my comedy blog and give it a follow if you like it!

Leave a Reply

