“Beyond the Rising Tide” by Sarah Beard- Book Review

Beyond-the-Rising-Tide-FINAL-COVER 2-2-16 MED

About:

Kai met Avery only once–in the moment he died saving her life. Now when he’s not using his new healing powers to help people, he watches helplessly as Avery’s life is unraveled by his death. To help her, he risks everything by breaking the rules, dangerously blurring the barriers between life and death.

My Review:

Ghost stories aren’t ones I’ve often read. In fact, until I read “Beyond the Rising Tide,” it had been years since I’d read a ghostly story. But when I saw this book available for review, there was something it that appealed to me. Yes, it has a lovely cover, and that may have helped in my decision to read it. But the synopsis also fascinated me, and I decided to give this book a try.

I think I’ll start with the lovely aspects of this tale, such as what beautiful writing this author has. Seriously, it has some– if not THE– prettiest writing I’ve seen in a YA with a contemporary setting. It made me want to read more of this author’s works, for sure.

Secondly, the romance. Oh man, did I get the feels! As one of the characters was a ghost, there was some tension that made me unsure of just how everything would turn out in the end, and it had me turning pages at a quicker-than-usual pace to see what would happen. Seriously, it still makes my heart pound when I think on it. Now, I won’t say how I feel about the end, because I’m afraid that would cause some spoilers, and I do not wish to ruin the end for anyone. So I will just say that I did at least feel some satisfaction, but I won’t tell you anything more. ๐Ÿ˜‰

My third (and final like I’ll ramble on about) is that I enjoyed how ย this book was pretty clean for not being a Christian book (what usually passes the clean test for me). It’s not very easy to find a YA contemporary romance that doesn’t have extreme foul language, and questionable romance scenes. However, the romance was clean (and sigh-worthy) in this book, and there wasn’t extreme foul language. I really appreciated this.

In the end, I think the only thing I did not care for in this book was the “afterlife” picture. As a Christian, I believe in getting to heaven only through having Jesus as your Savior. But I already knew this wasn’t a Christian book when I requested it, and had just chosen to look at the story as a contemporary fantasy. So while I did not agree with some of this story because of personal convictions, I was still able to overall enjoy the book.

So yes, I did like this tale, which means I’m going to give “Beyond the Rising Tide” by Sarah Beard a rating of four. Age recommendation is for mature teens and adults.

Book Review Ratings:

5. Great Book!

4. I ย liked it!

3. Okay.

2. Did not like it.

1. Did not finish.

*Thanks to the publisher through SLB Blog Tours for a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review, I was not required to write a positive review.

*Originally posted on my old blog. Hoping to transfer more of my reviews in the coming weeks.

Leave a Reply

