“The Winner’s Curse” by Marie Rutoski- Book Review

16069030

About The Book:

“They were never meant to be together. As a general’s daughter, seventeen-year-old Kestrel enjoys an extravagant and privileged life. Arin has nothing but the clothes on his back. Then Kestrel makes an impulsive decision that binds Arin to her. Though they try to fight it, they can’t help but fall in love. In order to be together, they must betray their people . . . but to be loyal to their country, they must betray each other.Set in a new world, The Winner’s Curse is a story of rebellion, duels, ballroom dances, wicked rumors, dirty secrets, and games where everything is at stake, and the gamble is whether you will keep your head or lose your heart.”

My Review:

I’ve seen some praise for this book, and I’ve seen some disappointment for it, too. But I’ve see more “YOU NEED TO READ THIS BOOK” than anything else, and the cover was just so pretty… So yeah, I caved in, bought this book, and proceeded to think that I’d read it one day. Well, over a year later, the day came, and I finally got to see just what the fuss was about this book. How did it measure up for me?

I think it measured pretty well. I mean, I finished it. Goodness, I’ll just go and ahead and say that I overall liked it. I found it awesome how the heroine was different from so many of the popular female leads in YA fiction. She wasn’t some naturally gifted warrior queen. At least, not in the way that seems to be more often portrayed in YA. She’s good with battle technique, and is resilient enough to get through some fairly difficult situations. But she’s just not one of ย those girls who picks up a sword and excels in battle. In fact, she’s trained for some time with weaponry, and still isn’t great with them. I think I majorly liked this because it gave us a heroine who didn’t need to be a skilled, combat fighter to be strong, which resounds with the type of heroines we see/read about in real life.

Other things I liked were, one, the setting. I feel like the author did just enough world building to make me feeling I visited some fantasy world without throwing a bunch of unfamiliar things at me that could cause confusion from trying to keep everything straight. Secondly, the romance was also interesting to read. It was full of drama, and I like drama, so… There were also some pretty interesting plot twists that made this book unique from many other fantasies I’ve read.

As much as I liked some parts of this book, I did have some issues with the book. The world of this book is not a pretty place, plus there was some use of foul language. I’m also not one of the readers who were blown away by the book’s ending. Maybe I was expecting a more exciting plot twist than what this book ended with…? Whatever the case, I wasn’t flailing with wonder. Yes, I admit the ending was not something I saw coming, but it just did leave me feeling AMAZED. This isn’t really a problem, but it just makes me wonder why others were so excited by the end?

However, despite its lack of having a heart-pounding finale for me, it did leave me curious to find what happens next. And again, I over all did like this book. So I think I’m going to give “The Winner’s Curse” by Marie Rutkoski a rating of four– I’m taking off a star for the negative stuff.

Book Review Ratings:

5. Great Book!

4. I ย liked it!

3. Okay.

2. Did not like it.

1. Did not finish.

2 thoughts on ““The Winner’s Curse” by Marie Rutoski- Book Review

Leave a Reply

