“My Lady Jane” by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Aston, and Jodi Meadows — Book Review

51rZwmE2vxL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

 

About:

A re-imagining of the story of Lady Jane Grey, the girl who, once upon a time, was queen of England for nine days…

My Review:

Before I read this book, I’d seen it around. However, for some reason it did not particularly pique my interest. Which, as I think about it, is somewhat odd as I was fond of the story of Lady Jane Grey when I was younger… Anywho, I one day decided to give it a try. Why this happened, I’m not 100% sure. It was a spur of the moment decision, but I’m glad I made said decision because I enjoyed this book.

The original story of Jane Grey is a sad one, but this story, while it does have some sad moments, was overall far from having a full-blown depressing tone one might expect from a retelling of Lady Jane Grey. In fact, this book really is not a retelling of the story, but more of a re-imagining of history. This book was one historical re-imagining that I wish was the true story.

So what did I like? It is one of the funniest books I’ve ever read. Who knew one could recreate a sad event from the past and turn it into a tale full of smile inducing comedy? That’s exactly what this book was for me. The story is told from three perspectives—Lady Jane, Lord Gifford (known as “G”), and Kind Edward the VI. I’m telling you this because I just have to say that I think King Edward’s POV was my favorite, and probably had the most amusing voice to me.

Another thing I enjoyed about this book is that the historical England in the story is not the historical England we usually learn about today today. In history, there are just people who are, well, people. However, in this book there are people who can transform into animals. I ❀ this.

Also, Jane is a historical bookworm. Yesssss. πŸ˜€

There was not a whole lot about this book that I did not enjoy. There were a few curse words (bleh), and some parts were slow. Not much else to mention when it comes to negativity.

All of the above (positive) things mixed into an overall lovable story that has me eager for the next book in this series. I think it’s supposed to be a Charlotte Bronte/Jane Eyre mashup, and I’m thoroughly awaiting its 2018 release.

If you’re looking for a book that will make you a smile, you might want to give this a try. (However, if you are a die-hard history purist, this book might make you faint.) I give “My Lady Jane” by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows a rating of four and a half.

Book Review Ratings:

5. Great Book!

4. I Β liked it!

3. Okay.

2. Did not like it.

1. Did not finish.

Leave a Reply

