Drama Wednesday (15): “Chicago Typewriter” Review

chicagptypewriter

What I  Liked:

chicagotypewriter4

The writing elements. It can be fun to watch a drama and see characters who do things you like to do. In my case, this drama was about a writer who, well, writes. Which I happen to do both here and on some personal fictional works. Anywho, I liked the writing and bookish parts of this series.

The historical vibe of 1930’s Korea. Okay, so I have not really thought much on what a 1930’s Korea looked like before watching this drama. From this show, it looks a lot like 1930’s America, except, you know, overrun by Japanese and mixed with Korean/Japanese culture. However, some of the clothing styles, architectural structures, and music style are similar. So it was interesting to see this side of Korean history. Speaking of Korean history…

chicagotpewriter3

The little taste of history concerning Japan’s occupation of Korea was something my history loving heart appreciated.  Before watching this drama, something that kind of flew over my head about Korea is this time period. I guess I just tend to be drawn to the hanbok wearing days of Korean history, so I found it an eye opening lesson to learn about the struggle the Koreans went through because of the Japanese occupation. So awful! *hugs the 1930’s Koreans*

The way the series flips from present to past, past to present was interesting. I helped add the mystery feeling of this series.

The romance was sweet, and not overdone. Kind of feel sad for one character, though. 😦

The friendship between the characters in the past, and how they renewed their friendship in the present. Some of their story was tear worthy, but that just added to the emotional, heartrending awesomeness that I (morbidly) kind of like. O_o

Action scenes. Yep, while not a lot (they’re mostly in the past), there is some action.

What I Was Not So Fond Of:

chicagotypewriter2
More, please?

There were a few loose ends left untied at the end. It was not so bad that I’m melting from lack of knowledge, but there are a few characters that have me curious about what happened to them.

Curse words in the subtitles. Most dramas I watch have curse words, but I’m just saying I. don’t. like. it. #rantover

Overall, I really enjoyed this drama. It was different and stands out, and I am glad I decided to watch it. Wish there were more episodes, because I’m going to miss this drama and its characters. 😥 *sniffle*

4 thoughts on “Drama Wednesday (15): “Chicago Typewriter” Review

  1. This one is on my list for sure. Ever since I saw clips and concepts photos. I was really drawn to the time period aspect because I havent seen any dramas that takes place there at all before.

    1. It’s unique look is one thing that drew me to it, but I only had it on my to-watch list. Then my friend watched it and enjoyed it, making me want to watch it even more. I decided to go ahead and give it a try. It’s not a fast paced drama, but it has heart. Plus, it has a fantasy aspect that I was not expecting. You should totally try it asap. 😀

Leave a Reply

