“Cinder” by Marissa Meyer—Book Review

Cinder

About The Book:

A retelling of the fairy tale, “Cinderella,” set in a futuristic world in the new East Asian city, New Beijing, and starring a cyborg Cinderella. It. is. so. awesome. 😀

My Review:


There are reasons this book has been gotten such praise. Not only is it a unique take on a classic fairy tale,  it’s also an interesting retelling with a Cinderella that won’t be easy to forget. She’s not the typical “perfect” girl waiting for prince charming. She’s a girl whose plight made me cheer for her— I wanted her to overcome her obstacles (Go Cinder. FIGHTING!). Sometimes her attitude was a bit much, but, over all, I found with her sense of humor, as well as her not- easily- seen- heart, that she is a heroine I liked reading about.  As for the prince, Kai? Yay for a prince who was a character who had more depth than the original Disney prince charming. I love his sarcastic wit, which definitely added some awesomeness to his interactions with Cinder. (He has ended up as being one of my favorite princes in books.)

I also liked most of the different “twists” this book took with the Cinderella fairy tale. I can tell that either one, Marissa Meyer put quite a bit of thought into giving an engaging read with unexpected turns, or, two, she’s a master at taking a story where the reader did not know it would go when they first started reading it.

I quite enjoyed the first book in the Lunar Chronicles. It has likable characters, as well as a setting (slightly reminiscent to Star Wars and even Wall-E) that gives the old fairy tale a fascinating perspective. The major things I wasn’t partial to in this story was that there was use of some bad words, and some of the story was sad, but I liked it over all liked it so much that I have read its novel sequels, re-read it TWICE, and, almost two tears ago, went on a few hours long trip to meet Marissa Meyer (one of the BEST DAYS EVER! Picture with her at bottom of this post.).

I give “Cinder” by Marissa Meyer a rating of five.

Book Review Ratings:

5. Great Book!

4. I  liked it!

3. Okay.

2. Did not like it.

1. Did not finish.

 

101_4011
Fun fact: My hair is naturally brown. 🙂
4 thoughts on ““Cinder” by Marissa Meyer—Book Review

    1. Me, too! It is such a fun ride. The only book I did not care for was “Fairest,” but the other novels are some of my favorite books. I have most of them signed. Marissa is supposed to be doing a tour for her new book this fall, so I hope to take the remainder of the books I own by her to be signed, too. I also would like to read “Wires and Nerves.” Haven’t bought that one, yet. 😀

    1. I did enjoy the books. I first read “Cinder” back in 2014, and have re-read it twice, and “Scarlet” and “Cress” I’ve re-read once. I would like to go back and re-read most of the series, and finally get a hold of “Wires and Nerves.” 😀

      Will check out your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

