Drama Wednesday (17): “My Sassy Girl” (2017) Drama Thoughts

Today for Drama Wednesday, I’d like to share some thoughts on the 2017 K-drama, “My Sassy Girl.” This drama is about a princess who is searching for her missing mother, and the escapades she gets into while secretly doing so.

(There’s also some political stuff, a romance plot, and plenty of little funny moments that should extract at least one smile from its viewers.)

mysg

What I Liked:

This drama, while not 100% hilarious at ALL times, had some fun, comedic elements. I love comedy when it is done well, and this drama did so in some parts.Β This is a historical that does have some serious political moments, YET it is not all seriousness, and I appreciated that. Historicals can be SO SOMBER. :’-( Yet, while this one has its tear-bringing times, it isn’t terribly heavy. Plus, the ending was my favorite ending for a historical yet. ❀

mysg5

The actress who played the princess, Oh Yeon Seo, was amazing. Like, wow, her facial expressions were AWESOME. Whoever picked her to play this role chose the perfect actress to play a sassy princess.

I loved that the princess in this drama was sassy. Yeah, she is pretty much my favorite Joseon princess ever. No perfectly graceful girl here. She does mature some as the series progresses, but she never truly loses her sassy-ness.

mysg2

The relationship between the princess and her two servants. They could be so funny. πŸ™‚

The political and action stuff. I went into this drama expecting it not be terribly serious, but the series does not start off with fluffy moments and silly antics. It starts in a rather serious way, and this kind of threw me off. However, once the funny elements were thrown in, I slowly began to appreciate the non-silly, political and action stuff. Gave this drama a bit more, well, drama. πŸ™‚

What I Did Not Care For:

It took me getting past the first episode and half of the second episode to really get into this drama. Like I said, the show did not start as I thought it would, and the very beginning was not terribly funny, and actually a bit confusing. o_O

There was some crude humor. I like humor, but I do not appreciate it when it is crude.

 

I liked this unique historical, overall. It did not end making me want to throw something at the screen at the end because of a shocking ending, and it was not dreary. It had just enough light-hearted moments that make my heart feel sparkly when I think about them. πŸ˜€

 

4 thoughts on “Drama Wednesday (17): “My Sassy Girl” (2017) Drama Thoughts

    1. I have not watched the original movie, so I cannot say whether it is as good or not, but it is a drama worth a try if you want some laughs sprinkled in with court drama.

    1. I agree about wishing the writers did not write erotic books. I suppose it is supposed to be funny, but the drama would be better off without it. :-p

      I do like how there seems to be a modern feel to some of it. Especially the princess’s decision at the end. That was great, lol. I was not expecting it. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

