“Shades of Milk and Honey” by Mary Robinette Kowal— Book Review

 

 

About The Book:

“Shades of Milk and Honey” is a somewhat simple regency romance that follows the story of Jane, a spinster who is not considered outwardly beautiful, BUT has talent with the art of glamour. The book follows her life as it is entwined with various other characters, and the ensuing drama caused by emotions and magic is rather like an Austen book, except, you know, there’s magic. 😛

My Review:

Have you ever wondered what a Jane Austen book would be like if it had a bit of magic? Well, Miss Austen never got around to writing a book like that (*sad face*) , but Mary Robinette Kowal did, and the result is fantastically charming…

Think about a proper British Regency book or film. Okay, now imagine the characters not only having to deal with the drama of society’s structures BUT also the fact that some people have talents to glamour things, while others do not. Think of a world where illusion can make rooms a bit otherworldly, or hide flaws in one’s features. Sounds fascinating, does it not? That is what this book does. It reads like a historical, but the woven-in magical parts complement it so that the story has an authentic flavor that tastes delicious. (Dare I say magically delicious? 😉 #sorrynotsorry) I am a lover of both historical fiction and fantasy, and so the blend of both was ever so lovely

Another thing I liked about this book? Well, as I’m  a young woman who considers herself to be not outwardly beautiful, I always love finding a book where the heroine is NOT the fairest in the land. It makes her much more relate-able for me. I liked that the story showed Jane for being a likable woman because of who she is inside. And, though she is shown as an inwardly strong woman, the story shows every now and again a vulnerability from her that is felt for not having the desired looks women crave. Jane is now one of my favorite heroines ever. ❤

Dislikes… Hm, one swear word. I also think that this story suffers from not being very fast paced. But that is not a terrible flaw.  Also, the ending was rushed, but since there is a sequel, I won’t complain too much about it.

Overall, “Shades of Milk and Honey” is a sweet book with enough drama to make it interesting. I personally would have preferred more action scenes, but that’s just me. I give it a rating of four.

Also, I listened to this book’s audio book version, and the author narrated it. She did an excellent job. *claps hands in a proper, regency era way*  😀

Book Review Ratings:

5. Great Book!

4. I  liked it!

3. Okay.

2. Did not like it.

1. Did not finish.

2 thoughts on ““Shades of Milk and Honey” by Mary Robinette Kowal— Book Review

Leave a Reply

