“A Name Unknown” by Roseanna M. White— Book Review

NameUnknown_mck.indd

About The Book:

Rosemary Gresham is a thief, and a talented one at that. In fact, she is so talented that people hire her to steal stuff. o_O So it’s no BIG surprise that the mysterious Mr. V hires her for the special job of finding proof that Mr. Peter Holstein is a German sympathizer. Disguised as a librarian (best disguise, ever!), Β Rosemary is soon hired by Mr. Holstein to organize his library (which is in a sad state of paper-ly shambles.) What will she discover… *mystery music sounds*

My Review:

THIS book.

Strong heroine? Check. Sweet, realistic romance? Check. Faith Content? Check!

I had read only a couple of Roseanna M White’s before this one—which I liked, by the way. However, this one tops them both so that it shines in a brilliant, sun glaring light. (Not REALLY, so no worries. Eclipse glasses are not needed for the viewing of this book.)

I loved the heroine of this story. She was witty, mentally strong, and street smart. She could take care of herself, and yet was still feminine. This is a balance that I think book heroines need to have more of, and Miss Rosemary Gresham is a prime example.  Also, her story of redemption was sweet. ❀

The hero, Peter Holstein, was also a pretty snazzy character. Honestly, I feel like I related to him in more ways than Rosemary. πŸ˜› He’s a writer who gets sucked up into his own little world, and, as I’m a little familiar with this world, it was cool to read about his authorly quirks. These same quirks also kept him from being Mr. 100% perfect, and I liked that. Characters who are human need to have a flaw to seem real, and Peter would have been wayyy too perfect without his writing induced, distracted brain flaw. Also, the part with him having a stuttering disability was something I’ve never seen in a hero character, and made him all the more authentic. And perhaps more lovable because it made him an adorable fluffball of vulnerability that you just want to cheer on. πŸ™‚

As for the overall story, it was an enjoyable story for me! I liked the subtle mysteries, and the included action scenes. The faith plot was also nicely put in, and made the story touching for me. Imagining the story without it would honestly make it not as good, in my opinion.

I also think White has a wonderful writing voice that engaged me into a world that I could see without her overwhelming Β me with too many scenery details. Her characterization is wonderful, and I like how she added in real British slang words that gave this story an extra bit of world building seasoning.

I’m going to give “A Name Unknown” a rating of five, and am looking forward to its sequel, as well as trying more of White’s other published works. πŸ˜€

Book Review Ratings:

5. Great Book!

4. I Β liked it!

3. Okay.

2. Did not like it.

1. Did not finish.

*Thanks to the author and publisher for a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review.

7 thoughts on ““A Name Unknown” by Roseanna M. White— Book Review

  1. Glad you liked it. πŸ˜€ I’ve never read Roseanna White’s books before, but thought this one looked interestingn so it’s good to see so many positive reviews going around. Now if I just didn’t have a self-imposed book buying ban going right now…

    1. It was an awesome read. Certainly worth a read, and even a buy… once the ban is over. Best of wishes on the ban, by the way. They are SO HARD. *all the sighs*

  2. I did not mean to delete your comment, Nicole! I apologize for my clumsiness. My kindle is acting up. :-p

    Anyways, I am also looking forward to the next book. I play some violin, so I think it will be fun to read a character also knowledgeable with the instrument.

  3. This is one I see *so* many good reviews and fangirl comments for (and I’m already *Swoony* over a bookish hero). Needless to say, it’s high on my dear-self-you-must-read-this-book list. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

