“Caraval” by Stephanie Garber— Book Review

img_20190113_200241_761

Scarlett Dragna has wanted to see the magical performance of the games of Caraval since she was a little girl. Now engaged to a count (who she only knows through letters :-/ ), she is ready to put childish dreams away in favor of feeling a sense of security. Yet when her wedding draws nigh—days away, fyi—she finally gets the chance to go to the wondrous game. And it is there that she is thrust into a spectacular adventure where not everything is what it seems… 

My Review:

It was worth the hype. Hype is scary, y’all. It makes a book look more enchanting, but it also fills me with a sense of caution so that I give it a stinky eye as I buy it. 😉😂  So yes, this book gave me a little more faith in radical book adoration.

Entrancing Writing. I love it when descriptions are dripping with dazzling words. (Also makes the writer part of me want to sob because I want to write like that! 😭)

The OTP. Ya’ll, this pair. I love it when characters grow to love each other. I want to stand on a virtual stage and share more detailed reasons why I love their romance, but it would be full of spoilers. So here’s a heart: ❤.

giphy-1

Lots of plot spinning. It was basically like riding a carousel that kept switching directions, and even pulling a Mary Poppins by abandoning the carousel all together. O_o

Enchantment and Whimsy… Caraval was just the sort of place that stretches the mind with extraordinary delights. It was alike to Alice in Wonderland with its quaint oddness, yet also a Carnival in Italy? Yeah, that makes sense to me. Both of these wrapped together? L-O-V-E-D it.

Negatives…

It was magical, but overshadowed by darkness. Scarlett and her sister are mistreated by their father. There’s violence. People also doing what they please because Caraval supposedly has no consequences… So it was not a puffy and 100% cute read.

I loved the main couple, but there were some romantic moments that made uncomfortable. My cheeks were red beacons.

Now I can finally say I’ve read “Caraval!” I kind of totally regret avoiding this book for so long, but maybe the wait lowered my expectations so that it was much better than I anticipated? Whatever the case, this book was overall a four and half star read. I recommend to lovers of remarkable YA fantasy, those who like being transported to crazy places, and fans of The Greatest Showman cause it was also kind of like a Circus book. 😉

Book Review Ratings:

5. Great Book!

4. I  liked it!

3. Okay.

2. Did not like it.

1. Did not finish

9 thoughts on ““Caraval” by Stephanie Garber— Book Review

    1. Thank you! It was one that made me struggle with technical difficulties. I originally wanted to post it over a week ago, but my first draft was somehow deleted. 😱 Anyways, I’m so glad you enjoyed reading it. 😊

  1. Great review! I absolutely loved Caraval. The world was so captivating and different from anything else I read and that element of mystery and thrill had me at the edge of my seat the entire time! And I can’t wait for FINALE! I have a feeling I will devour it as soon as it releases lol

    1. Thank you! It is an awesome read. The writing was beautiful, and loved the characters! And yes, I was so curious about what wpuld happen next. Loved the twists. 😄 Definitely one of my top reads of 2019 so far. I’m about to start the sequel and am excited to see what happens next. 😁 Kind of glad I waited to read it. I detest waiting a long time for series to fully release. Hope you enjoy Finale!!!

      1. Yayyyyy I can’t wait to hear your thoughts about book 2! In my opinion, I think it honestly gets better ❤️ completely agree with you! The bad thing about series is I have to wait another year to know what happens! And Thank you! I hope Finale is a satisfying conclusion! Happy reading 😊 and thank you for the follow! I really appreciate it! 😊

      2. Thank you for the follow, too! Always fun meeting new book friends. I just started “Legendary” this evening. I’m less than 100 pages in and it’s already amazing. 😍 (Waiting it awful. I remember the torture for the last Lunar Chronicles book. Over a year was AWFUL.)

      3. No problem! Same here! Ooooo I can’t wait for you to finish it! If you get a chance to do a review, let me know! I will definitely like to hear your thoughts! Omg i love the Lunar Chronicles! I actually started it when the final book released so I can’t imagine how crazy it must have been waiting over a year!

Leave a comment