“A Desperate Hope” by Elizabeth Camden— Book Review

91qMEaAA06L

Alex Duval and Eloise Drake were once lovers. Forced to break up, they haven’t seen each other in years.

Eloise has long decided she doesn’t need the recklessness of her ex-love in her life (she wants a stable life, which one can’t blame her for wanting…), so she doesn’t try to contact him even though she knows he’s become mayor of his childhood home, Duval Springs.

But then her job requires her to go to assess the worth of the houses of Duval Springs…. Kind of awkward, because she’s working for the State. And the State is relocating every one in this small town to make a place for a large water supply in New York City.

And Alex? Yeah, he is not happy about it. O_o

What I Enjoyed…

Great historical atmosphere. I can tell Camden puts great effort in writing a tale that gives her readers more than just a glimpse into early twentieth century New York. It was so sad seeing a reflection of what happened to citizens over a century ago, and I appreciated getting some insight into this part of history.

Her magnificent writing style added a magical touch to this book. *claps* I don’t know how to eloquently describe it, but the way she writes is a great balance of description and dialogue. (And boy, is she royalty when it comes to witty dialogue.)

I loved how mentally strong the heroine is portrayed.Β  I think that my favorite part about historical heroines is their inner strength, and Eloise Drake is a perfect example. Sure, she has regrets from the past and fears for the future. But she handles them pretty well, and her ability to maneuver in the male-dominated business world was awesome!πŸ‘Œ.

Alex Duval is worthy of heart eyes. 😍.Β  Just about every time I read an Elizabeth Camden book, I fall in love with the story’s hero. And the Mayor of Duval Springs is no exception. *sighs* I loved his optimism. His presence just made the book so hopeful (pun kind of intended) despite there being an abundance of issues. And he is a crier. Ya’ll, I loved seeing a man shedding tears shown as a positive thing. Not to mention kind of adorable.

Star crossed lovers. Another trope I adore to the moon and back, this part of the tale made for some criss-crossing emotional drama, and I ate it up. In the words of Captain Barbossa from Pirates of theΒ Caribbean: JUST KISS!

Anything in the tale make me feel hopeless? (pun intended)

Some slow spots. Most historical books have them, so I won’t rant. Camden expertly weaved in some surprises when the book seemed to be taking a slower pace. So not a big deal for me, and it did not significantly lower the rating.

On that note, I give “A Desperate Hope” by Elizabeth Camden a rating of four and a half, and I recommend to fans of Christian Historical with some romance. It is the third book in a series, but can be read and enjoyed without reading the first two. πŸ˜€

Book Review Ratings:

5. Great Book!

4. I Β liked it!

3. Okay.

2. Did not like it.

1. Did not finish

*Thanks to the author and publisher for a free complementary copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review.

5 thoughts on ““A Desperate Hope” by Elizabeth Camden— Book Review

      1. Yes πŸ‘! Jen turano is hilarious and I always learn so much from Camden. You can’t go wrong with either one πŸ˜‰.

      2. No, you certainly can’t go wrong. I wasn’t overly interested in their debuts, but I’m so glad I tried them. 😍

Leave a comment